Written submission by Lauren Matera

Ryerson student and first-time submitter Lauren Matera has sent us a lovely piece of written entitled “Do You Remember?”, which you can read in full below. Beauty. Thanks for submitting Lauren!

~

You knew my name once,
I knew you well too
so lively, so strong
but now?

You were my foundation,
grounding me
keeping me whole
but now?

now I look closely
search endlessly
only to find a vacant blankness in you
occupied by a lifeless ghost

Slowly, slowly
bit by bit,
in increments
you lost me

In moments of lucidity,
you look at me with warmth
but only for a moment
then you’re gone

You are lifeless before death,
you’re mind retreats
into the darkest corner
allowing no memories to escape

They are held captive
and may never be released
prisoners in their own cells
until completely dismissed

And so I ask you,
do you remember me?
the prisoners rattle about,
but they have lost their voices

Another blank stare,
your eyes glossed
the creases of your face crinkle
now I am certain, you have lost me

Slowly, slowly,
bit by bit
in increments
you lost me

You knew my name once,
I knew you well too
so lively, so strong
but now?

Now your prisoner’s have escaped
flitted away to a place unknown
they’ll never return,
not perchance nor for purpose
you’ve lost them
just as you’ve lost me.

Leave a Reply

