Feature: Q&A with Erin Leydon

We are excited to welcome photographer Erin Leydon as our first featured artist! Every once in a while, we will be doing a Q&A with a Toronto based artist who has found success in his/her creative field.

We’ve included a portion of Erin’s work below, but be sure to view her portfolio at leydonphotography.com.

~

Q: What do you do for a living?
A: Freelance Photographer.

Q: What’s your favourite part about what you do?
A: The people I get to meet and work with.

Q: Hardest part?
A: Long days alone. Not that it’s ‘hard’ per se – just strange. Some days I go without talking for several hours. Like today for example, I have been up since 9:10 and it’s now 2:11 and I have yet to speak!

Q: How did you get started? 
A: By stealing my Dads cameras. LiveJournal was popular, I was 14, and I needed to document my life. Obviously. He eventually caught on and gave me his Nikon CoolPix 4500. He then introduced me to film and gave me his Canon A-1, which I still shoot with frequently. LiveJournal ended, but my photography career was just beginning!

Q: How has your style and work changed over the years? 
A: I’d say my style has matured significantly and my work has gotten more simplistic, less complicated and far less selfish. My style/work, like many other photographers, is ever changing and (I think) that’s a good thing.

Q: What’s your preferred medium and why?
A: I love film and digital equally. It really depends what I am working on. I don’t prefer one over the other – I just prefer one or the other depending on the situation. They both have their place.

Q: Is there other related creative work that you do? If so, what is it?
A: Lately I have been shooting a lot of dishes for Toronto Life magazine, which has got me very interested in food, particularly growing your own food, herbs, etc. I plan on growing my own herb garden this Spring and somehow incorporating that into my photography. Not too sure how yet, but I’m working on it…

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 3.47.29 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 3.48.02 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 3.48.28 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 3.48.38 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 3.48.46 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 3.49.05 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 3.49.47 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 3.49.56 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 3.50.07 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 3.50.33 PM

Leave a Reply

