Feature: Q&A with Caitlyn Murphy

As the second installment of our ongoing series, we have interviewed Toronto illustrator Caitlyn Murphy. She’s a total doll! We’ve included a sample of her work below, and be sure to view her portfolio at http://caitlynmurphy.ca.

~

What do you do for a living?

I’m an Illustrator, and I work at Robber part-time. I’m also a full-time student at OCADU.

What’s your favourite part about what you do?

The satisfaction of getting an idea out of my head and onto a piece of paper. Especially when I get the colours and composition right. I basically get to do case studies of all my interests and translate it into work. And I like that.

Hardest part?

Self-promotion.

How did you get started? 

I’m still learning and still in school so I’m not confident that I have really startedstarted. I did a previous degree in Philosophy, and just have been drawing with a purpose ever since.

How has your style and work changed over the years? 

My basic abilities to draw and paint have grown so much in the past five years. I think I have just grown more comfortable and confident with the way I see and depict things. I mean, I never used to paint before and now I do.

What’s your preferred medium and why? (painting vs digital)

Painting. Painting with gouache to be more specific. I do use Photoshop and Illustrator from time to time, but it’s more rewarding to do it by hand. Less stuff in the way.

Is there other related creative work that you do? If so, what is it?

Lately I’ve been trying my hand at collaging and that’s been fun.

metropolis

reflection

strollb (1)

watercar3

Leave a Reply

