Poetry Submission by Paul Harper

Another submission by Ryerson’s very own Paul Harper, a 2nd year English student.

You can view more of Paul’s work on his website and blog.

He shares with us today a poem called Dilettante:

__

I am just a dilettante with good intentions

Tell me if I spout something irrelevant

Drill it into my skull

With your lovely syllable

This has been too indirect

Just another little death

Want to feel it intertwine

Something ancient & divine

I would be lying if I said I weren’t impatient

It runs the steps often

Just another insignificant sight

Basked in the early morning light

A thread, a word, a pulse

Reacted in the mere gesture

The surface it rose above

There is nothing to be frightened of

__

Leave a Reply

