Poetry Submission by Geraldynn Lubrido

This free-verse submission by Geraldynn Lubrido uses the imagery of the galaxy to evoke a new understanding of space, word, and voice. It fuses the cosmic and the individual within a shifting dialogue between the “I” an “you”. Overall, it is a poem of unrequited love and suffering. Give it a read below.


WORD VOMIT

“Let’s talk about space” you said.
“It’ll be fun” you said.
Okay then.

“I plucked the stars for you
Pulled them from their sticky surroundings
Of swirling dust and melting sunlight
Burned my hands for you
Comets bashed me in the head
Voiceless whispers left unsaid
Words that could’ve shredded me
Black holes in my memory
Helping me stay in denial
Of your soft neglect.

And still did I…
Why did I?
What was the point
Of reaching so high?
No guarantee
Of a chance to be free
Painlessly I
Want to exist
But the sun swallowed me whole
And now I’m trapped
In a burning hell
For all eternity.”

You look at me uncomfortably.
I shrug.

“It’ll be fun” you said.

One thought on “Poetry Submission by Geraldynn Lubrido

Leave a Reply

