Poetry Submission by Alex Heath

Alex Heath has sent us another one of her poems, this one being about a familiar struggle, especially for students: coffee addiction. Its correlation with nails, shoes and hair in this piece makes the coffee a marker of identity and mobility. However, the addiction is clear by the last stanza in the repetition of “what’s the harm in just one more?” and its various italicizations, the narrator struggling to move forward as the stresses move backward. Check it out below!


coffee

I like my coffee black – like the lacquer on my nails,
the shoes on my feet,
the hair on my head
“don’t talk to me until I’ve had my morning coffee”
it’s 12:01
get up, get down, repeat
the oldest trick in the book

“how much to feel alive again?” “$4.25.” “make it a double.”
sit and sip while the others bump into each other like crazed atoms
busy, faceless humans running out of time
never enough time
“everything I like is either illegal, immoral, fattening, expensive or impossible*”
*excluding coffee
is it a dependency or is it love?
never quite immune to its insistent jolt
he says, “let’s meet for coffee”
but I’m already on my third dose

what’s the harm in just one more?
what’s the harm in just one more?
what’s the harm in just one more?

Leave a Reply

